i could go on about this forever, but i’ve kept it short (for now.)

Because I’ve recently lost several pounds, I’ve been thinking about the statement:

“I’ve always struggled with my weight.”

What does that mean, exactly? Does it mean that I’ve had a difficult time maintaining a desirable weight for most of my life? That I’ve lost and gained the same 20 pounds countless times? It could mean these things. But I think it’s much more than that, or even a false statement. Perhaps what I really mean to say, and what this really means, is:

“I’ve always struggled with being okay with myself regardless of my weight.”

The reason I believe this is the real issue is that if I had a positive, accepting attitude towards my body, I wouldn’t have felt the urgency to lose weight, to mold myself into a certain shape – a “struggle” would not have existed.

1 comment

Leave a comment